Governance & Leadership

David Royce – Chair of the Board

David chairs Emerging Futures CIC, two project boards providing support to care leavers and is active as director of a digital development and training company. He works with small groups of people that he admires working on developments that will make the world a kinder place. He has previously driven a charity from £60k to £116m turnover during his 19 years as CE.

Anna Lewis

Anna runs a portfolio of roles across the public and third sectors, including as an NHS non-executive director, a Trustee, an independent consultant and executive coach.  Her background is in NHS senior management, primarily in the design, delivery and improvement of integrated mental health and social care services.

Samantha Evans

Sam is the Innovation & Engagement Manager at VSO working on a DFID-funded programme. Key areas of focus include partnerships and lifelong youth engagement. One of her greatest achievements is launching a global portfolio of co-designed youth networks. Sam holds an MSc from the University of Edinburgh.

Neal Hounsell

Neal recently retired from a 40 year career in local government, working firstly as a librarian, then as an Audit Commission inspector and finally as a commissioner of housing, social care and public health services. Currently he volunteers as a befriender, works at his local foodbank and is a trustee for Tempo.

Adam Stanley

Adam manages innovation for a large public services organisation in the West Midlands. Prior to this, he worked in retail management and a range of managerial roles on the railway, including as Innovation Manager for a large European public transport organisation.

Stuart Mullin – Treasurer

Stuart is a finance professional and member of the ICAEW since qualification in 1994.  Previous roles include Finance Director of Wall to Wall Television, CFO at Simon & Schuster UK (with responsibility for UK, Europe and Australia) and CFO/COO at Argonon.  Stuart is currently joint Managing Director of Greenbird Media Ltd.

Andrew Fox

Andrew is Chief Design Officer and Head of Marketing for Peach, an adtech company. Andrew worked with Becky Booth (former Tempo CEO) at service design agency LiveWork. When the project completed she invited Andrew to the board, to which he brings experience in brand strategy, design & product sensibility. Andrew is invested in progressive causes and interested in fine art.

Tom Ebbutt

Tom is the Managing Director of On Purpose. He has had a varied career across social enterprise, government, and education, including 8 years as a councillor for Hackney, COO at Ambition School Leadership and a Venture Partner at Ark Ventures. He also chairs the Steering Committee of London’s largest resident-led social housing regeneration scheme.

Marc Giraudon

Marc has worked in a number of organisations including – as European CFO of a $20Bn AUM Real Estate Company), in SMEs (Co-founder of world-wide third party administrator) and start-ups (including tech and media sectors) before consulting and investing in SME clients. Marc is an accountant, holds a B.Sc. and an MBA from London Business School. Away from work, be it cruising the North of France and the South Coast, Racing in the Solent or just having fun, Marc spends much of his spare time “messing about on the water”. He is also a trustee for a number of charities, doing his bit to make the world a kinder and better place.

Ian Merrill – Chief Executive

Ian is the CEO of Tempo, having joined the organisation in February 2017, to help fully realise the potential of Time Credits to unlock and join up community assets, through enabling more people to volunteer. Ian’s role is to drive Tempo’s strategy and results, extending our impact across the UK. Ian works closely with Tempo’s Board of Trustees to ensure the organisation is governed well and able to deliver on its vision and mission.

Please contact Tempo CEO Ian Merrill at if you are interested in finding out more about Tempo’s Board and governance arrangements.